Pana is a good place for people-watching, and I’d include pictures if I weren’t inhibited about pointing my camera at people.  Three demographic groups are particularly visible.  The natives are ethnically very Mayan, and the women wear the traditional Mayan garb of colorful woven fabrics.  Secondly, there are the hippie tourists, who wear the traditional garb of the Haight Ashbury in 1967.  The hippies like dreadlocks.  There are lotsa dreadlocks walking around in Pana.  And they carry huge backpacks. (There may be fewer of them around now that the Cosmic Convergence Festival has ended). The third demographic is the elderly snowbirds, among whom I’m afraid I must count myself.  These can be further sub-divided into snowbirds who look like West Palm Beach, Florida, and snowbirds who look like old hippies.   I don’t know if I look like an old hippie.  I mean, I don’t have shoulder-length white hair and a goatee, and I don’t wear a cowboy hat or a fringed vest.  On the other hand, I hope I don’t look like West Palm Beach.

Businesses with Hebrew names are commonplace all over Guatemala, as is Jewish iconography.  The evangelical Christians are really into old testament stuff and they love Hebrew.  Normally I don’t take picutres of signs, but the Hospedaje Shofar grabbed me in spite of myself.  And then once I’d done that, Dental Shalom was irresistible, if only for the art work.  I promise, no more pictures of signs.  They’re all over the place.  There’s a discotheque called El Aleph.

Image

Image

